Of Balai Ringin

Field trip 2 days ago was held at Balai Ringin, to be specific, it is Sungai Kerang. We have to travel along the river by boat – a shallow canoe, and the river is surrounded mostly by mangrove plants. We were reminded beforehand to keep our mouth shut from saying anything about crocodiles. Haha. And we really did.

The canoe itself was scary at the first place. We have to sit in balance and some of the river water entered the canoe. Task of scooping those water out had been a permanent duty of the boatman. Ours is Abang Rizal. He looked very young when I know he is married, with three children. So, he took us with the canoe to the head river and it was a long journey, seriously.

image

image

Villagers that we met up majority are fisherman. They live and eat everyday up to their efforts that day. When we were canoeing, we passed quite a lot of groups that harvesting fish from their nets, fishing on the river bank, swimming to adjust the net underwater, and everything seemed normal. I mean, I was thinking – don’t they afraid of crocs that may passed by? I am afraid and worry. I remembered a series of true story that I watched in River Monster by Jeremy Wade. Heh.

Our major activity is just collecting fishes from the net. I thought it was more than that, like spreading net over the river etc, but alas not. Relieved. Because if there will be a lot more activities on the river, I will be extra black than I am now. Sunburn!

image

image

The best part was barbecuing! Not exactly barbecue, not that advance – with butter, corn and those stuffs, no! haha. It was just fire and fish. Just like Bear Gryll used to do to his snakes or frogs. It was my first time eating fish with gut content. The fish wasn’t operated before being smoked. Just like that – fresh from river, lay them down using a stick, and wait until they completely cooked. To my surprised, they are delicious!

image

image

Am I eating the gut content?

Hoho. No, I’m not (we’re not). It needs some estimation skills to know where to stop eating when the gut content slowly appeared. It was my first time and nothing disappointed on my taste buds. The fishes were fresh and sweet.

There was a moment, when we were on the canoe – and nobody talks; just silent – the only sounds we heard was just belong to nature. Sound of peace. Water flowing, bird chirping, crickets sounds, and that kind of harmony descant. Just like the smell of forest during jungle trekking, or odor of grass and ground when day started to rain – those type of inspiring peace.

image

That was also the time when I first met my first pet, a shrimp named Bear Gryll – named so because I wish it will be tough in whatever situation. When I write this, it just passed away. It jumped out from the container, perhaps he missed his old place. I felt guilty, I should not separate him from his home, right? He must be sad 😦

So, that’s all. I rarely write reviews on field trip, just feel like write something. I know I will miss those activities when I’m no longer here studying this amazing course.

Those experiences, sweats and sweets, smiles and laughs – will be nicely framed in some place in my heart. All these is getting near to the end, right? Hmm.

imageAmong all, I favour this. This pic.

Quite a lot of heart that melted and poured in this field.

Speak your mind here! :]

